CMU Campus
Department of         Mathematical Sciences
Events People Colloquia and Seminars Conferences Centers Positions Areas of Research About the Department Alumni
Fall 2017 Events
Wed, Aug 9
1:00 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Final Public Oral Examination For The Degree Of Doctor Of Philosophy

Jennifer Iglesias
Carnegie Mellon University
Approximation Algorithms for Faster Communication and Cheaper Networks Using Linear Programming
Fri, Aug 11
12:00 pm
Wean Hall 7218
Final Public Oral Examination For The Degree Of Doctor Of Philosophy

Slav Kirov
Carnegie Mellon University
Models and Methods for One-Dimensional Approximations to Point Cloud Data
Mon, Aug 21
1:00 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Final Public Oral Examination For The Degree Of Doctor Of Philosophy

Jing Wang
Carnegie Mellon University
Escrow and Clawback
Tue, Aug 29
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar

David Huckleberry Gutman
Carnegie Mellon University
Condition Numbers for Convex Functions with Polytope Domains
Thu, Aug 31
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Katy Craig
University of California, Santa Barbara
From slow diffusion to a hard height constraint: characterizing congested aggregation
Thu, Aug 31
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar

Shachar Lovett
University of California, San Diego
Linear decision trees for 3-SUM and a duality with active learning
Tue, Sep 5
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Math Logic Seminar

Andy Zucker
Carnegie Mellon University
A direct solution to the Generic Point Problem
Tue, Sep 5
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar

Andrew Zucker
Carnegie Mellon University
An introduction to abstract topological dynamics
Thu, Sep 7
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar

Joseph Briggs
Carnegie Mellon
Inverting the Turán Problem
Tue, Sep 12
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Petronela Radu
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Double nonlocality in continuum mechanics models
Tue, Sep 12
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Math Logic Seminar

Andy Zucker
Carnegie Mellon University
A direct solution to the Generic Point Problem II
Tue, Sep 12
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar

Jing Zhang
Carnegie Mellon University
Coloring points on the plane
Thu, Sep 14
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar

Freddie Manners
Stanford University
Sums of permutations
Fri, Sep 15
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7500
Math Colloquium

Fedor Nazarov
Kent State
The sharp upper bound for the probability that a stationary Gaussian process with a spectral gap remains positive on along interval
Mon, Sep 18
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar

Marcos Mazari Armida
Carnegie Mellon University
Introduction to good frames in Abstract Elementary Classes, Part 1
Tue, Sep 19
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Carey Caginalp
Carnegie Mellon University
Conservation Laws, Shocks, and Random Initial Conditions
Tue, Sep 19
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Math Logic Seminar

Garrett Ervin
Carnegie Mellon University
The Cube Problem for linear orders I
Tue, Sep 19
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar

Clive Newstead
Carnegie Mellon University
Seven trees in one: a very explicit tale
Wed, Sep 20
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Canceled
Probability/Math Finance Seminar

Frank Seifried
University of Trier
Mon, Sep 25
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar

Marcos Mazari Armida
Carnegie Mellon University
Introduction to good frames in Abstract Elementary Classes, Part 2
Tue, Sep 26
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Math Logic Seminar

Garrett Ervin
Carnegie Mellon University
The Cube Problem for linear orders II
Tue, Sep 26
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar

Kerrek Stinson
Carnegie Mellon University
A randomized algorithm for enumerating zonotope vertices
Mon, Oct 2
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar

Johannes Muhle-Karbe
Carnegie Mellon University
A Dynamic Equilibrium Model for Brokerage Fees
Mon, Oct 2
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar

Marcos Mazari Armida
Carnegie Mellon University
Introduction to good frames in Abstract Elementary Classes, Part 3
Tue, Oct 3
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Math Logic Seminar

Chris Lambie-Hanson
Bar-Ilan University
A forcing axiom deciding the generalized Souslin Hypothesis
Tue, Oct 3
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar

Adrian Hagerty
Carnegie Mellon University
A Relaxing Look at Radon Measures
Thu, Oct 5
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Monica Torres
Purdue University
Characterizations of measures in the dual of $BV$ and related isometric isomorphisms
Mon, Oct 9
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar

Florian Stebegg
Columbia University
Robust Pricing and Hedging around the Globe
Mon, Oct 9
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar

Marcos Mazari Armida
Carnegie Mellon University
Introduction to good frames in Abstract Elementary Classes, Part 4
Tue, Oct 10
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Nicolas Garcia Trillos
Brown University
Graph-based Bayesian learning: continuum limits and scalability of sampling algorithms
Tue, Oct 10
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar

Chris Cox
Carnegie Mellon University
You just have to look at it from the right angle
Mon, Oct 16
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar

Jingyu Huang
University of Utah
Analysis of a Kraichnan-type Fluid Model
Tue, Oct 17
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Francesco Patacchini
Carnegie Mellon University
A blob method for diffusion
Mon, Oct 23
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar

Dylan Possamai
Columbia University
Open Problems in Contract Theory
Mon, Oct 23
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar

Vahagn Aslanyan
Carnegie Mellon University
Schanuel's conjecture and the Ax-Schanuel theorem, Part 1
Tue, Oct 24
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
Canceled
CNA Seminar

Shankar Venkataramani
University of Arizona
Non-euclidean elasticity, discrete differential geometry and a quantitative Hilbert's theorem
Tue, Oct 24
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Stephan Wojtowytsch
Carnegie Mellon University
TBA
Thu, Oct 26
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Augusto Visintin
Universita' degli Studi di Trento
Compactness and Structural Stability of Nonlinear Flows
Thu, Oct 26
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar

Robert Hough
Stony Brook University
Covering systems of congruences
Fri, Oct 27
4:30 pm
Baker A53 Steinberg Auditorium
Pure and Applied Logic Seminar

Dana Scott
Carnegie Mellon University
What is Explicit Mathematics?
Mon, Oct 30
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar

Yan Xu
Carnegie Mellon University
TBA
Tue, Oct 31
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Alexis Drouot
Columbia University
Resonances for highly oscillatory and stochastic Schrodinger operators
Thu, Nov 2
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar

Penny Haxell
Waterloo
Stability and algorithms for independent transversals
Mon, Nov 6
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar

Antoine Jacquier
Imperial College London
Perturbation Analysis of Sub/Super Hedging Problems
Tue, Nov 7
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Ethan O'Brien
Carnegie Mellon University
TBA
Thu, Nov 9
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium

Mike Shelley
Courant Institute
TBA
Mon, Nov 13
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar

Janosch Ortmann
NYU
TBA
Tue, Nov 14
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Martin Kruzik
Institute of Information Theory and Automation, Czech Republic
Weak* lower semicontinuity for signed integral functionals on BV and applications
Thu, Nov 30
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Jeffrey Case
Penn State
Thu, Nov 30
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar

Sarah Peluse
Stanford University
Three-term polynomial progressions in subsets of finite fields
Tue, Dec 5
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Athanasios Tzavaras
KAUST
The problem of shear band formation: a study of a parabolic regularization of an elliptic initial-value problem
Thu, Jan 18
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar

Jason Williford
University of Wyoming
TBA
Tue, Jan 23
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar

Ryan Evans
NIST
Thu, Jan 25
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar

Cezar Lupu
University of Pittsburgh
Multiple zeta values: analytic and combinatorial aspects
Fri, Feb 9
4:30 pm

CNA Joint Pitt-CNA Colloquium

Alexis Vasseur
University of Texas at Austin
TBA
Thu, Feb 15
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium

Peter Sternberg
Indiana University
TBA
Wed, Feb 21
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7500
Math Colloquium

Greg Kuperberg
University of California, Davis
TBA